Elite round of the Futsal Champions League: Benfica, Barça, Tyumen in the final | Futsal Champions League


Former Barca and Benfica winners clinched first place in their group in the elite UEFA Futsal Champions League round on Saturday to claim two of four places in the final and Tyumen beat Kairat Almaty on Sunday to join them.

Until the final so far

Barça, Benfica, Tyumen

The incumbents of Sporting CP will face ex-champions Sinara Ekaterinburg in the decisive final match on Sunday. Scheduled for April 28 or 29 and April 30 or May 1, the knockout finals will take place in a venue to be confirmed.

All matches

The groups

Tyumen secured a place to the final as in his only other appearance in 2019/20MFK Tyumen

Group A (full)
Until the final: Tyumen (host)
Also in the group: ACCS Asnières Villeneuve 92,
Kairat Almaty, Viten Orcha

Tyumen beat ACCS 5-2 and came back twice from behind to beat Viten Osha 3-2, meaning they entered Sunday’s deciding game two points clear as Kairat was held 3 -3 by French competitors. Kairat, aiming for a round of 16 record, led Tyumen at half-time thanks to Birzhan Orazov, but Bruno Taffy scored twice before Jovan Lazarević secured a second final appearance in three years for the Russian contenders, although Albert Akbalikov reduced it to 3-2 in the dying seconds.

Sport celebrates victory against Hovocubo

Sport celebrates victory against HovocuboSports CP

Group B (ends Sunday): Sporting CP (host), Sinara Ekaterinburg, Olmissum, Hovocubo

Anton Sokolov’s hat-trick helped Ekaterinburg win 5-1 over Hovocubo on Thursday. Sporting owners beat Olmissum 3-1 and the following day the Croatian side lost 3-2 to Yekaterinburg despite a late three-way retaliation. Sporting clinched an 8-2 victory over Hovocubo with Diego Cavinato’s hat-trick to gain the upper hand on the goal difference. Sinara needs a win over Sporting on Sunday to overtake them for the top spot.

  • Sporting won their second title in three seasons earlier this year and are aiming for a ninth appearance in the final.
  • Ekaterinburg was champion in 2008.
  • Olmissum had never played in the elite round but qualified for the round of 16 first leg last season.
  • Hovocubo is at this point for the first time.

Barça won all three games

Barça won all three gamesSK Plze

Group C (full)
Until the final: Barça
Also in the group: SK Plzeň (host), Halle-Gooik, Dobovec

Three-time champions Barca started with an 8-2 loss in the 2020/21 quarter-finalists Dobovec thanks to a hat-trick from Ferrao, then defeated Halle-Gooik 8-4 before a 3-1 win over Plzeň confirmed them by a six-point margin in the final for the ninth time in as many attempts in 11 seasons.

Group D (full)
Until the final: Benfica (host)
Also in the group: Haladás, Levante, Uragan Ivano-Frankivsk

The 2010 Benfica winners progressed ahead of their home fans in Lisbon. They beat the only survivors of the preliminary round, Haladás, 8-3 and Uragan 4-0, Afonso Jesus scoring three, before fending off the return of debutants Levante to win the deciding match 3-2. As in Group C, all the other contenders finished on three points.


Comments are closed.