Ex-Premier League referee delivers verdict on Harry Maguire and Southampton sanction decision

Harry Maguire was not guilty of a foul on Armando Broja during Manchester United’s clash with Southampton at Old Trafford, according to former Premier League referee Peter Walton.

Saints came from behind to draw 1-1 with United at Old Trafford, with Che Adams canceling out Jadon Sancho’s opener to earn a point from Ralph Hasenhuttl’s men.

But Southampton had their chances of winning the game, with Stuart Armstrong and Armando Broja both squandering chances for the visitors after Adams’ equalizer.

Saints also saw a penalty appeal dismissed in the closing stages of the match, when Broja fell into the box under a challenge from Maguire, who also made contact with the Albania international as he appeared to tap on the calf of the attacker.

Keep up to date with all the latest news, views and analysis from St Mary’s.

Our Facebook and Twitter pages dedicated to the Saints will bring you the conversation.

And you can also follow our Southampton reporter, Tom Leach, with all the latest Saints stories as he receives them. by clicking here.

However, Walton said he felt it was accidental on the part of the Manchester United and England defender, with the former referee concluding that in his view the right decision was made by referee Stuart Attwell and the video assistant referee.

“There are two decisions. Of course, was there a fault of [Harry] Maguire in the first place? I think it’s just a meeting of two players there and Maguire was stronger so it’s not a foul,” Walton said, speaking on BT Sport.

“The secondary question is whether Maguire could have avoided contact when the player is on the ground here.

“You just see him stomping on his calf there, again I think that’s part of the game itself and not an early strike so there Maguire isn’t guilty either way.”

Comments are closed.