Premier League experience, seasoned campaigners and wildcards – who will face Huddersfield Town next season

The next league season promises to be exciting, with the new campaign already underway. Huddersfield Town suffered a heartbreaking 1-0 defeat at Wembley against Nottingham Forest in the Championship play-off final last season which saw them miss out on a chance to return to the Premier League.

Carlos Corberan’s side produced a magnificent campaign which saw the Spaniard guide the Terriers to a third place finish. They won their semi-final against Luton Town to stage a final against Forest. However, their loss to Forest means it’s another tier two season for Corberan and the Terriers.

And with that in mind, YorkshireLive takes a look at all the managers who will face Huddersfield and Corberan next season.

High Level Campaigner:Chris Wilder (Middlesbrough), Paul Heckingbottom (Sheffield United), Alex Neil (Sunderland), Steve Bruce (West Bromwich Albion), Dean Smith (Norwich), Nigel Pearson (Bristol City)

There are plenty of seasoned Championship campaigners in the 2022/23 cohort of managers. Dean Smith is leaving the Premier League with Norwich, while Chris Wilder and Steve Bruce have both found success in the top flight recently with Sheffield United and Newcastle United respectively.

Given their impressive 2017/18 and 2020/21 seasons, Smith and Norwich are favorites to secure top spot in the table in May next year.

READ MORE: Every Championship move made by Huddersfield Town rivals so far

Wilder and Middlesbrough will be hoping they can enter the play-offs after narrowly missing out last season, while Bruce and the Baggies need to produce a much better campaign than their last which saw them finish 10th.

Likewise, Nigel Pearson, who helped Leicester to promotion to the Premier League in 2014, is also hoping for a better campaign with Bristol City, who finished 17th last season.

Paul Heckingbottom and Sheffield United will look to put aside their grief from the play-offs next season. The Blades narrowly missed out on a place at Wembley for the Championship play-off final after losing on penalties in the semi-final to Nottingham Forest.

And finally, Alex Neil returns to the Championship with Sunderland following their 2-0 victory in the League One play-off final against Wycombe Wanderers. Neil helped Norwich to promotion to the Premier League in 2015 via the play-offs.

Experienced Championship Campaign:Mark Robins (Coventry City), Paul Warne (Rotherham United), Gary Rowett (Millwall), Nathan Jones (Luton Town), Michael O’Neill (Stoke City)

Nathan Jones was perhaps the standout manager in the Championship last season.

Jones guided Luton Town to an incredible sixth place last time out, in what was one of the best managerial performances the Championship has ever seen.

Gary Rowett and Michael O’Neill are in charge at Millwall and Stoke City after finishing ninth and 14th respectively.

Millwall finished last season as one of the Championship’s form sides, with Rowett and co losing just three of their last 17 games, winning nine of them. Likewise, Stoke also finished their season strong, winning six of their last nine contests.

Mark Robins and Coventry started out as one of the Championship story-lines last term but their red start eventually petered out.

The Sky Blues were in the play-offs from matchday six to matchday 20, but their second half of the season saw them retire due to inconsistent performances.

Paul Warne is also returning to the Championship with Rotherham United after bringing the Millers back to the second tier of English football at first request.

Warne has already led Rotherham in the Championship twice in the 2018/19 and 2020/21 seasons, both of which saw the Millers relegated.

Championship Wildcards/Relatively New:Shota Arveladze (Hull City), Ryan Lowe (Preston North End), Vincent Kompany (Burnley), Jon Dahl Tomasson (Blackburn Rovers) Russell Martin (Swansea City), Leam Richardson (Wigan Athletic), Lee Bowyer (Birmingham City), Steve Morison (Cardiff City), Paul Ince (Reading), Rob Edwards (Watford), Michael Beale (QPR), Michael Appleton (Blackpool)

While Shota Arveladze, Ryan Lowe, Russell Martin, Lee Bowyer, Paul Ince and Steve Morison are still in charge of their respective clubs, there are a host of new names in the Championship this season.

Two new appointments will see Vincent Kompany and Jon Dahl Tomasson battle it out in Lancashire as managers of Burnley and Blackburn Rovers, while Rob Edwards has been tasked with guiding Watford to the Premier League after leaving Forest Green Rovers.

Michael Beale took over from Mark Warburton at QPR while Michael Appleton replaced Neil Critchley at Blackpool after the latter left to join Steven Gerrard at Aston Villa. Leam Richardson is the man in charge of newly promoted Wigan.

Comments are closed.