UEFA provide update on Super League punishment for Premier League rivals Leicester City


UEFA have confirmed that they are temporarily suspending the goodwill payments of the Premier League’s ‘big six’ for their involvement in the Super League breakaway last season.

Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool, Tottenham and Arsenal were the six English clubs involved in the short-lived league breakaway which only lasted 24 hours after widespread anger and condemnation from fans and pundits.

Leicester City are one of the clubs affected by the potential for a Super League breakaway, with the club struggling to disrupt the Premier League’s ‘big six’ and have managed to do so with two fifth places over the past two years.

Video upload

Video unavailable

As punishment for being part of it, the six clubs agreed to pay a fine of € 15m between the nine clubs involved and 5% of their UEFA competition income withheld for a season in 2023/24.

The clubs have also agreed to a combined £ 22million ‘goodwill’ payment with the FA and the Premier League, with the money going for ‘the good of the game’.

However, UEFA has now taken stock of the sanction, revealing that it “will not seek payment of any of the amounts proposed in the clubs’ May statements, as long as the court proceedings in Madrid involving, among other things, the ‘UEFA is pending.’

The update comes after the organization confirmed they had ended their legal fight against the three clubs still determined to move forward with the Super League; Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus.

It comes after a court in Madrid ruled that the three clubs should not be punished by UEFA for their continued involvement.

“The UEFA Appeals Body today declared the proceedings null and void, as if the proceedings had never been initiated,” a UEFA statement read.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.