The nationality of every Premier League winning coach, including Chile

A total of 11 managers have won the Premier League since its inception 30 years ago.

Manchester United are the most successful team with 13 league titles while Manchester City are in second place with six and Chelsea slip to third place with four triumphs.

Below, we take a look at the nationality of managers to lift the title since 1995.

Scotland – 14

There are no surprises as to why Scotland are top.

Sir Alex Ferguson is the most decorated manager in Premier League history with 13 league titles in almost 27 years.

Ferguson has been in some of English football’s most famous title races with Kevin Keegan, Arsene Wenger and Jose Mourinho.

He retired after 2012/13 and went on to win the Premier League. Since his departure, Man United have not won a title.

The other Scot to have won the Premier League is Kenny Daglish.

As Liverpool boss, ‘King’ Kenny won three league titles while known as the Premier League.

In 1991 he took charge of Blackburn Rovers and guided them to the Premier League in his first season as manager.

Owner Jack Walker invested heavily in the club and in 1995, under Dalglish and a side featuring Alan Shearer and Chris Sutton, Blackburn won the Premier League.

He became the fourth manager to win top flight titles with two different teams after Tom Watson, Herbert Chapman and Brian Clough.

Italy – 4

Carlo Ancelotti won Chelsea their third Premier League title in 2009/10 with 86 points.

His side edged Manchester United by one point and it was Didier Drogba who inspired the Blues with 29 goals.

Roberto Mancini became the second Italian manager to win the Premier League in 2011/21 for Manchester City – and did so in spectacular fashion too.

Sergio Aguero scored a 94th-minute winner against Queens Park Rangers on the final day of the season to deny Manchester United the title. It was Man City’s first top-flight title since 1968.

Sergio Aguero goal against QPR, 2012

Claudio Ranieri is the most memorable winner among the 12 managers to have lifted the trophy.

His appointment by Leicester City in 2015/16 was met with a disappointing reaction, particularly from club legend Gary Lineker.

However, Ranieri produced one of the greatest achievements in the history of the sport as he somehow guided Leicester to Premier League glory. Before the start of the season, they were 5,000/1 to win the league by the bookmakers.

Antonio Conte is the fourth and last Italian to win the title and he did so the following season with Chelsea.

The former Juventus boss won the title in his first season and collected 93 points, seven points clear of second-placed Tottenham.

Spain – 4

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola with the 2021/22 Premier League trophy

Pep Guardiola won all four titles for Spain as manager of Manchester City, but his debut season in 2016/17 didn’t go to plan as the club finished fourth.

However, Guardiola has since won the league in four of his last five seasons. In two of them, including 2021/22, Guardiola’s side beat Liverpool to the title by one point.

France – 3

Arsene Wenger won three league titles at Arsenal in 1997/98, 2001/02 and 2003/04.

It was the last title that was perhaps the most impressive with his Arsenal team going unbeaten throughout the season.

The Gunners – later dubbed the Invincibles – have won 26 games and drawn 12 games.

Portuguese – 3

Jose Mourinho has backed his claim to be the Special One during his time at Chelsea.

The Roma boss – who also worked at Manchester United – won successive titles in 2004/05, 2005/06 and 2014/15 in his second stint.

Germany – 1

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp

In 2019/20, Jurgen Klopp guided Liverpool to their first top-flight title in 30 years.

The Reds finished with 99 points and that was even more special considering they missed out on the Premier League in 2018/19 with 97 points.

Chile – 1

Manuel Pellegrini won the 2013/14 title with Manchester City although they were helped by a late Liverpool collapse from Steven Gerrard.

A defeat and a draw in their last three games saw Liverpool lose the title, with City winning their last five games. Interestingly, City have only spent 14 days of the season in first place.

Comments are closed.